Watching our old confused dog, I feel a little bad about my late great uncle

I am pretty certain that if our 12 year old yellow lab were human right now, he’d be wandering around the neighborhood in his pajamas and slippers, he is that confused.  Which reminds me of the time my elderly great uncle was playing cards with us when I was 19 or 20 – he was slightly confused during game play, so to tease him I turned my cards around so he could see them, knowing he’d still give me the cards I needed (we were playing gin or 31 or something where one player can benefit from an opponent’s discards).  Sure enough, my uncle discarded a card that I needed to win and the table erupted with laughter as I won. I feel badly about that now, 30 years later, watching our confused old dog – it is mean, even in good spirits, to tease someone who is old and confused.  We should feel nothing but sympathy for them, and soon enough that will be me (if I am lucky enough to live that long).

Watching our old confused dog, I feel a little bad about my late great uncle

Leave a Reply

