I grew up in a family where teasing was normal, and it took me a lot of years to lose this habit

My family teased each other, but not in a fun way.  Instead, it was in a way where everyone laughed except the person being teased, who felt like sh*t.  When my grandpa made gravy that turned out too thick, we mocked him ruthlessly for years.  When my cousin locked himself out of the house naked by accident (long story), that also was a ruthless mocking for years.  Again, it wasn’t lighthearted – it was fairly ruthless and mean spirited in a “teasing” way.  I took that with me to school – the teasing and the mean comments and the tolerating other people teasing me. And I ended up with friends who teased each other ruthlessly and rarely (never) stood up for one another or complimented one another.   It took me at least 10 or 20 years into adulthood, but I was able to shed that instinct of teasing.  Thank goodness.   I am thinking of this right now as I think of how when my great uncle passed away in 1985, and the family was upset, and I was mocking them for caring.  “Like any of us should be surprised the old fart died,” I kidded my mom at one point.  Crazy. I can’t imagine doing that now.

I grew up in a family where teasing was normal, and it took me a lot of years to lose this habit

Leave a Reply

