Couldn’t figure out why the “Alt-Fact” comments – now I know why :)

We have a wonderfully clever and funny friend who posted yesterday that the Seahawks won the Super Bowl thanks to Alt-facts.  People started posting comments from there, such as all the people at the parade, etc.  I didn’t think too much about the “Alt-fact” thing until this morning when I saw the New York Times article about Kellyanne Conway talking about “Alternative Facts.”  I didn’t even know who Kellyanne Conway was until Saturday Night Live’s funny skit about her (I had to ask Wife M who Kellyanne Conway was, and in fact may be misspelling her name here – oh, well).

1984 has Double Speak, such as Ministry of Peace being in charge of War.  Later, I remember our slick Huskies coach (Rick Nieuhiesal) and Sonics owner (Howard Schultz) using Spin and Double Talk in talking to the press.  I always felt oily reading their comments and honestly can’t stand reading people like that – Conway sounds like she would fit right in.  Unfortunately, since she runs the White House staff I’ll have to read her anyway.

Couldn’t figure out why the “Alt-Fact” comments – now I know why :)

Leave a Reply

