What Shingles the third time around is teaching me about Shingles

I had fairly mild cases of Shingles twice before, but this stronger bout of Shingles is teaching me a few things about Shingles:

  • It can cover a lot of the chest and back (not just a spot or two, but quite a few spots).
  • It can spread to the face.
  • It hurts to wear clothes over the Shingles area – like wearing winter clothing on a severe sunburn.
  • The infected areas feel like I pulled muscles in those areas, so in addition to having a sunburn it feels like I pulled something in my back, chest and arm.
  • It hurts to style my hair (literally, running my hand through my hair hurts my head).
  • There are random shooting pains (like someone is stabbing a knife) at random spots in my body that last for a few minutes or more, move to another spot, then return again.  The worst of these is in my ear, which makes me wince involuntarily.
  • I am sweating profusely.  I literally had sweat dripping from my ear just from standing for 15 minutes.
  • I want to sleep.
  • After 8 days, it is still going strong (the blisters have stopped growing and spreading but otherwise 8 days in I still feel the same I did on Day 1).

On the plus side, I always have aches and pains and fatigue, so in some ways Shingles impacts me less that way than it otherwise would.

What Shingles the third time around is teaching me about Shingles

Leave a Reply

