Have to suppress the memory of feeling alone during my lung disease following the post-election outrage

It has been a little challenging to be around friends and family this week, as everyone is up in arms about Donald Trump being elected. Emotions are running very high, and people are posting all kinds of stuff and going to the protests and professing strong emotions/crying.  We are a funny breed – people are in near hysterics about our President, but with a few exceptions I heard little more than chitchat when I went through my serious lung disease five years ago (i.e. some family was there (especially my sister), my wife and kids were there of course, and a few friends reached out, but I definitely didn’t see an outcry 🙂 ).  Again, we are a funny breed – someone we know goes through a serious illness and we send a few “let me know if I can do anything” notes, but Donald Trump is elected and there is an outpouring of emotion.  It is hard not to feel something about that, in essence that my life is less important to most people than the presidential election. Kind of strange to think about, and again gives me a sense of perspective as to how much to invest of myself in those people around me.  And that I have to be my own best ally and best friend, and can’t invest my sense of self-worth in the emotions or care of the broader base of people in my life.

From my perspective, Donald Trump is less real and less scary to me as a person than the disease that lurks in my lungs and which can erupt at any time.  Donald Trump might be crazy, but he is far less likely to kill or maim me than the lung.  Thus, I feel a little less emotionally invested than the devestated people around me.  

Have to suppress the memory of feeling alone during my lung disease following the post-election outrage

Leave a Reply

