I got a reminder today that many techies don’t know what they are talking about :)

When I used to sponsor a lot of technical demos, where I’d have a sales engineer present technology to a room full of techies, I was frequently reminded that techies speak a lot of gibberish, even to each other.  For example, I’d listen to a few techies talk in Greek to each other and not be able to discern what they were talking about but feeling impressed at their level of knowlegdge.  Then, almost invariably, later I would mention to one of the techies later in private what a great conversation that seemed to be, and they’d say, “Oh, he/she doesn’t know what he is talking about” then explain how most of what they were saying didn’t make sense.

I’d forgotten about this, but yesterday, I sat in a room where four techies talked to each other about the cloud, including SaaS and Lambda and other things.  I heard them talking about latency and instances and data collection and so on, and in general couldn’t string together the general meanings although I know what each of the phrases were.  Then, after the meeting, one of them said, “I didn’t know half of what I was saying” although all the other guys int he room were nodding the entire time he was talking.

So, once again, I am left thinking that most of what techies talk about is truly gibberish, even to themselves.  They are masters at baffling people with BS.

I got a reminder today that many techies don’t know what they are talking about :)

Leave a Reply

