Love the movie Biutiful – oddly inspiring, and also a reminder that there are scarier things in real life than ghosts :)

Although I haven’t seen it in a year, I’ve watched the movie Biutiful twice – and loved it both times and am considering watching it again, since it is a dark and depressing day and it is almost Halloween and we don’t need ghosts to make life scary since life is plenty scary for many people all on its own… On the surface, it is a deeply depressing movie (Wife M hates it for that reason 🙂 ) about a two-bit criminal father with a conscience who is dying of cancer, and you get the feeling at the end that although he has tried to take care of the people he loves it is not going to turn out well for any of them (foreshadowed by the deportations/deaths of the alien workers he tried to “help” while exploiting at the same time).  The story is real, raw, heartfelt and devastating, and I love that the father never stops trying.  Like The Road (or Pursuit of Happiness), to me it is really about a father in difficult circumstances who is desperately doing the best he can for his kids.  I find that part inspiring.  Also, it is a seedy movie, and I love seedy movies – they show me a part of life I will never live (hopefully).  And, finally, it makes me feel something.  I love movies that make me feel something.

In many ways, the movie is not unlike Breaking Bad.  Link: Biutiful

Love the movie Biutiful – oddly inspiring, and also a reminder that there are scarier things in real life than ghosts :)

Leave a Reply

