Watched “The Witch” for the second time and had some thoughts

I watched The Witch two weeks ago and loved it.  And a client mentioned this week how much she loves it too.  Last night, Wife M watched it for the first time, which means I watched it for the second time.  While I still like it, in the second viewing I think if I were editing the film I would make two changes (note: this is my personal taste, not a criticism of the movie): first, I would slightly reduce the mom character’s praying and whining – it is repulsive, and while it is true to the character I found it excruciating to watch the second time around; I think it could be reduced somewhat while still having the same effect. Second, I would also add more mystery.  Here is a family worried about witches, and the twins are going on about Black Billy the goat, and a child mysteriously disappeared and they live next to spooky dark woods – it would be fun to add a sense of mystery, such as the girl finding more clues that make it seem there is a witch in there.  Not over the top kind of stuff, but little things…  Of course, this is off the top of my head and that might change the whole feeling with the movie, but it is a thought…

Watched “The Witch” for the second time and had some thoughts

Leave a Reply

