Really missing jogging…

In the beginning I ran sprints.  I would run 150 yards at a dead sprint, walk for awhile, run another 150 yards and so on.  I ran 4 or 5 of these 3-4 mornings a week, and the other mornings I walked two miles (to give my legs to rest).  Then I was diagnosed with lung disease, and the doctor told me no more than a slow jog (max heart rate 130).  So for a year or two I ran a very slow jog (not much faster than a brisk walk).  But my arthritis didn’t like the jogging, so for the past 6 months or so I’ve been walking only (plus going to the gym).  Normally, it is okay but I am missing the jogging this week, something just a little faster paced than a walk.  

It’s okay.  I will survive.  I will never forget the six months of being allowed no more than a casual walk (heart rate below 100) and how great it felt when the doctor increased my heart rate allowance to a brisk walk.  I will also never forget that I had a 50% chance of living the rest of my life with an oxygen tank.  But it’s also okay to yearn a little bit for a jog.  I’m sure next week this feeling/wish will have passed.  

Really missing jogging…

Leave a Reply

