Yuck – people lose 100 body hairs per day.  And friends wonder why I don’t swim in public pools :)

Friends and family tease me because I don’t like to swim in public pools.  But the idea of swimming in a small body of water where people are dipping their hairy bodies, spitting water out of their mouth and so on is pretty nasty in my book.  Then I learned that humans shed about 100 body hairs per day, which means if someone is spending 30 minutes in the pool they are losing about 2 hairs, multiply that by 50 people and there are 100 body hairs per hour floating in an area where I’m putting my face.  Forget it.  

Also, pools are holding tanks for chlorine in an attempt to kill the germs.  But chlorine is a form of poison (there is a reason it kills germs).  Which means it can’t be too great for my already damaged lungs.

I spent a lot of time in the pool when the kids were young – doing my due diligence — without uttering a word, but now that the family is grown I can sit in the sun by the pool as opposed to immersing myself in other people’s body residue.  Bleh.

Yuck – people lose 100 body hairs per day.  And friends wonder why I don’t swim in public pools :)

Leave a Reply

