One of the best themed characters for me all time is Ferris Buehler’s sister in Ferris Buehler’s Day Off

I always loved how the sister in Ferris Buehler’s Day Off spends the entire movie fuming about Ferris while she herself doesn’t recognize her own benefits in the midst of all her wallowing..  She has a new car, stylish clothes and essentially skims or skips through most of her classes and basically does whatever she wants to do while obsessing about Ferris’s unfair privileges.  I love that character.  How many of us today wallow while living a good life in what we call “first world problems?” Many of us could learn something from watching that character 🙂   

I myself could have learned something about that.  In 2009, 2010 and 2011 I had an amazing job that I was good at, had the support of my bosses, was allowed to work wherever I wanted, skipped meetings without notice if I didn’t feel they were inportant, and earned an amazing living – and bitched the entire time about my jobs.  Amazing.  In retrospect, I was coming down with lung disease and think the illness was making me unhappy/anxious/stressed (without knowing it).  But I had a good life and bitched and worried the entire time 🙂

Ironically, now I live with the possibility of relapse, make half the money and am not appreciated at work, and am much more content.  Go figure 😉

One of the best themed characters for me all time is Ferris Buehler’s sister in Ferris Buehler’s Day Off

Leave a Reply

