I think it is important to try harder to not be cynical as we get older

I am 48.   And I am noticing people I speak to who are about my age in general are pretty cynical.  They think they’ve seen everything and figured it all out, that they’ve heard everything and met everyone worth meeting.  I see it when I call into managers who in their early 30s were a little more tolerant than in their 40s. It is really an unattractive feature, and I think it is very important as we get older to remove the rose-color from our glasses, to keep an open mind and to keep a youthful eye on the world.  Treat every person we talk to as though it is a new and exciting conversation, or be open to suggestions from younger people (or older people).  NOne of us, as human beings, are very wise, so it is important to keep a healthy and youthful curiosity about all things, I think.

I think it is important to try harder to not be cynical as we get older

Leave a Reply

