Watched Goldfinger for the first time — and loved it.

I have seen bits and pieces of Goldfinger over the years, but never watched it end to end.  What I always remember, of course, is Oddjob’s hat and my friends giggling about Pussy Galore when the show was on TV.  But we watched it end-to-end last night, and it is truly one of the more entertaining of the James Bond films, and probably in my Top 5 for favorite ones (the Top 3 would be 3 of the 4 of the James Craig movies, and I have a fondness for For Your Eyes Only since it was the first Bond film I watched in entirety).  But it was one of the more complicated (but strangely believable) Bond films, and COnnery does a superb job in it (he is confident but also has a few moments of genuine nervousness). I also love the villains: Goldfinger, Oddjob and Pussy Galore are wonderful characters.  What a shame I had not watched it until now, but then again, it was a great way to sepdn the evening last night.

Note: I was a late James Bond bloomer.  I was 14 before I ever heard of him, partially because I didn’t watch a lot of TV or movies as a kid, since I was so darn restless all the time.  Most of the TV I saw as a kid were sitcoms (Taxi, MASH, Barney Miller, All in the Family) that my parents watched in the evening, since I could play (usually action figures) while they watched in the final hour before bedtime.  I was about 13 when I started really watching movies, and watched For Your Eyes Only with a group of friends on cable TV in our basement.

Watched Goldfinger for the first time — and loved it.

Leave a Reply

