Reflecting on how much effort it took to remain calm yesterday

I wrote yesterday how I was extremely tempted to confront a pedestrian whose behavior I didn’t like in a very public place.  First, I am very glad I was able to resist the urge to stop the car and yell at him.  It would have been silly, and would have accomplished nothing.  Second, it indicates I am truly not feeling well and is something I need to bring up to my doctor.  The only times I’ve been like that outside of youth were when I was coming down with lung disease and when I was coming off prednisone.  So the fact I had to fight so hard the urge to put someone in their place tells me it is a good time to get a check-up on things.  Thank goodness for my therapist, who taught me how counting 5 breaths really helps calm anger and to combat depression — it is very true and is a trick I  use often, including yesterday.  Thank goodness!!

Reflecting on how much effort it took to remain calm yesterday

Leave a Reply

