Passed 2 of 3 temptation tests since High Cholestrol report

I was slighly discouraged about my high cholesterol, since I eat a lot of fruit and vegetables, very little meat and exercise at least 30-60 minutes each and every day.  But I am committed to doing what I can to lower it.  Have started putting only a single very very thin slice of cheese with my veggies for lunch.  Other than that, have passed 2 of 3 tests so far:

  1. Grocery Store: Passed.  I wanted to put ice cream in my basket but resisted.
  2. Left over Ice Cream from my wife: Failed.  Wife M had two bites of ice cream left last night and offered it to me, which I took.
  3. Free Ben and Jerry’s Ice Cream today: Passed.  OUr building has a free ice cream truck today as a thank you, and I resisted (twice) the urge to grab a free Ben and Jerry’s cone…

Speaking of which, a few months ago I was walking by Expedia in downtown Bellevue, and for some reason Haagen Daz was passing out free samples.  People were loading up with 4, 5 and 6 cartons of ice cream, often at the urging of the distributors.  Frankly, it was disgusting (gluttonous) to watch, wherein when we are offered a free ice cream we take 6 when we can.  Which is why it is absolutely necessary for governments to monitor the behavior of businesses – it is human nature to take as much as we can.  

Passed 2 of 3 temptation tests since High Cholestrol report

Leave a Reply

