With an incurable disease, forever is a looonnnngggg time :)

My lung disease is treatable, not curable. Luckily it is stable, but never again can I play sports or run or even live pain free. On the earliest days, adrenaline carried me. Then shock and depression. Then – after therapy – appreciation and contentment mixed in with occasional dark days. But always the pain and the restrictions are there, and all the while the years keep ticking by. Some days, like today, I feel grateful but also the realization that my old life is gone forever, and forever is a very long time. :). That it won’t ever end. That is surprising sometimes. I wonder if I will ever get used to that.

With an incurable disease, forever is a looonnnngggg time :)

Leave a Reply

