Talking to former employees couple of weeks ago resurrected some demons

One of the great misfortunes of the past two years was I met some truly bad people.  Backstabbing, lying people that seem to be a little more prevalent in the staffing/consulting industry, not so much the newbies but the tenured people who have been in it for awhile. It is like a lot of them were trained by these aggressive, alpha places and it just carried with them.  I had two who worked for me, and I was able to get them canned (I can tolerate a lot of things, but not backstabbing), but there were also a number of VPs like this.  I’ve moved on, and it has been heaven, but a few people who worked for me reached out to me recently (references, advice, etc.) where this kind of stuff came up, and it has reminded me how unfortunate it was to work at those places.  It isn’t that I feel they got the best of me – I could’ve gotten around it but refuse to sell my soul — but I seriously hate people like that, and hate that I have met so people like that the past two years.  I am working to exorcise the memories of those people but it is taking at least a few days.  And although there are a higher number of scumbags in that industry, there are also some good people mixed in.  Hopefully this entry will help me erase some of that…

Talking to former employees couple of weeks ago resurrected some demons

Leave a Reply

