I can’t get over how much I suddenly enjoy going to the gym

My entire adult life, I’ve exercised.  For years, I did so in my basement (weights) or outdoors (walking/sprinting), but after we rented out our basement (mother-in-law apartment) a few years ago my wife enrolled me in a gym, so in the mornings I walk to the gym (30 minute walk), hit the weights (originally was 15 minute power thing, but since my illness and heart-rate restriction it is 30 minutes).  So I’ve always been disciplined – for me, exercising in the morning is like showering/brushing-the-teeth: I don’t like it, but it’s something I need to do.  But inexplicably, a few weeks ago I started actually enjoying the gym.  I walk down, spend a joyful 30 minutes lifting moderate weights, then walk back, and enjoy the entire process.  Why, after 20+ years of misery, do I suddenly enjoy the gym?  I have no clue, but I love the enjoyment!!!!  It is like actually enjoying the taste of vegetables (I don’t) or disliking the taste of sugar (I love sugar) – it is doing something that is good for you while enjoying it.  I hope it lasts!!  But I do have to be careful though – as someone with fibro and lung disease, I am under fairly strict orders to “not overdo it” and keep my heart rate at a reasonable level (usually 120-140 max, although sometimes they lower that to 100 during my annual tests); this is harder than it seems, as I really want to push myself to keep myself fit. 🙂

I can’t get over how much I suddenly enjoy going to the gym

Leave a Reply

