The scariest thing I ever did as a parent in USA was drop my oldest off at Kindergarten

More than anything else, this shows the sheltered life I’ve led, but I think the most nerve-wrenching thing I did as a parent was drop my oldest (son R) off at Kindergarten, which happened 13 years ago tomorrow.  I was so worried about him – would he do okay?  Would he make friends?  Would he be bullied?  It was stressful and worrisome.  I didn’t feel that way about my daughter L, not only because she was the second in line (we’d already done it so I knew what to expect) but she was much easier to adjust to things at the time.  But, again, it shows what a privileged life I lead – there are people in USA who have to worry about their kids and drive-by shootings, etc.  I did not go to a great high school (it was half minority in a poor area and there were problems with gangs, etc.), but I did not have to raise my kids in that.  I feel blessed.  And I wish I could make it so no one had to raise their kids in that.  The fact we have that in the USA is really unforgivable to us, our Leaders, and our top 1% who have retired and spend their days in luxury.

The scariest thing I ever did as a parent in USA was drop my oldest off at Kindergarten

Leave a Reply

