Ankylosing Spondylitis or Fibro is making it excruciating to tie my shoelace and lift a laptop today :)

Despite my health ailments, I try very hard to stay fit (I can’t take too much credit for it, it is just wired in me to want to move my body like some people are wired to climb mountains or paint pictures or collect stamps).  And currently at 5’11” I weigh 157 pounds dripping wet and can do 4 or 5 slow/easy/disciplined reps of 185 pounds bench pressing, 125 pounds bicep curling, 285 pounds leg pressing and 200 pounds lat pull downs, which isn’t too shabby all things considered and for a guy who doesn’t care too much about being strong or muscular (I just want to stay fit).

Yet today my Ankylosing Spondylitis and/or Fibro is especially active, and I could barely lift my laptop out of my laptop bag, and it was just excruciatingly painful to bend over (from a sitting positon) to tie my shoelace. How fascinating the body and health and illness are, where you can lift more than your bodyweight without straining or breaking a sweat,  yet lifting a laptop feels like trying to lift a truck, and trying to tie my shoelace feels like I was hit by that same truck.  Go figure.

Wife M wants me to see the Doc to make sure all is well.  I scheduled something on Monday morning.  I’m sure everything is fine – just another day in the life of chronic illness 🙂 

Ankylosing Spondylitis or Fibro is making it excruciating to tie my shoelace and lift a laptop today :)

Leave a Reply

