Caffeine intake waaaaayyyyyy down since returning from vacation

I am a notorious caffeine addict. This has been true for 20 years but is especially true the past 5 years since recovering from my illness.  My caffeine intake was very high this past winter (4+ quadruple espressos daily) due to relentless stress, but I’d cut back to 3-4 doubles a day before vaction.  After a few weeks of rest and recovery, I am happily down to two espressos (doubles) per day.  Yet another reminder of how important it is to take a break from stress on occassion (rather than covering it up with caffeine, sugar, etc.).  I am trying to make this last as long as I can…

In 2012, as I was coming off prednisone and the indescrible fatigue set in (and I was trying to work through my illness and recovery), I was drinking quadruple espressos all day long to combat the utter exhaustion.  Those few months were absolute hell, and as much as I love coffee I hope I never return to those days (knock on wood). Luckily, my health is holding up reasonably well… 

Caffeine intake waaaaayyyyyy down since returning from vacation

Leave a Reply

