So many times, an extra 10 minutes goes a long way towards helping another person – we are grateful to the person who did that yesterday.

Daughter L made a friend on one of our days ashore.  They spent the entire day talking, laughing and swapping stories.  But at the end of the day, they forgot to exchange contact information, so all she had was the person’s first name, age and country of origin.  But she wanted to reach that person again.  What to do?

We called Guest Relations on the boat.  Could they help us?  No, they said.  But we could try the Excursions desk.  So I called the Excursions desk but we were put on hold.  I tend to hate the phone anyway (I’d rather do face-to-face or by email), so I walked down to the Excursion desk.  I told the story and asked if they could help us track down this person?  No, the person said, only if we had the first and last name.  Ugh.  Later, that night, I went back to Guest Relations, and tried a final time.  “We have the first name, age and the person’s nationality,” I said.  “Isn’t there any way to search the database that way?”  The young woman at the front desk thought for a moment.  Let me try a few things, she said.  And she took 5 minutes to search through her computer.  “I think I found it,” she said.  “There is only one 20 year old from that country on the ship.”  She explained she couldn’t give us the name or the cabin number, but that she could call on our behalf or deliver a message to the room.  So I sent our contact information to the room.

(Note: if this is a different format, it is not by choice 🙂 – I think I hit a random button that changed formatting for this paragraph).  A half hour later, there was a knock on the door, and it was the friend.  My daughter was happy, and it turns out the friend was happy – they were having the same dilemma and wanted to reach my daughter, and in fact had been searching the shiop for her.  Both were happy, life was good, and all because one of three people took an extra effort to help us.  She cared, she took 5 minutes to search, and she took 5 minutes to relay the message.  

10-minutes is nothing. It is the time it takes me to shave, brush my teeth, floss and rinse off in the morning.  But so many times it is difficult for most people to find an extra 10-minutes to go the extra mile for another person, especially when we are disgruntled with something else. But it is so important, not only for customer service and business, but primarily on a human being level – we all want to same like our needs matter.  

I am very grateful to that person who helped us, and I sent a note to her employer that I hope expresses my apprecation in some small way,.

So many times, an extra 10 minutes goes a long way towards helping another person – we are grateful to the person who did that yesterday.

Leave a Reply

