A fish gave its life so our dogs could have a dog treat

Somewhere in the recent past a salmon was alive, breathing and swimming.  Then it was captured, ground up and ended up as a free dog treat sample at our local pet store.  I never really thought about how tragic that was until I took out the treat and could smell the salmon.  I am very glad that in the last 5 years I’ve been a pretty good vegeterian (it is rare when I eat meat), inspired by watching the pigs and chickens die in Food Inc.  Please note, I don’t feel holier than thou, I personally just made the choice that I don’t want to take an animal’s life for my own meal when there are fruits and vegetables and (organic and cage free) dairy.     

A fish gave its life so our dogs could have a dog treat

Leave a Reply

