A receptionist I’ve talked to a few times is a crack up, and she clearly hates people who call (or at least sales people who call).

There is a glass manufacturer who I’ve called into a few times, and the receptionist who answers the phone is a crack up.  She sighs with annoyance when I ask to be transferred to a person, and the one time I didn’t hear what she said the exasperation in her voice was palpable.  First, why the heck is she so rude on the phone — I’ve been a receptionist before and part of the the job is to answer phones. It is like a car mechanic getting annoyed if someone brings a car into the shop.  🙂  Second, why the heck is her employer putting her on the phones?  She isn’t exactly making me want to buy my glass from her company 🙂   True, I am a Sales Guy by day, but then again, I am (at least I am rumored to be) a human being after my work day is done.  Third, why would anyone want to be rude to people? Isn’t it easier to be nice and cheerful?  It is exhausting being rude, in my book.  Still, she does crack me up – I chuckle every time I have to give her company a call.  And I feel sorry for her – it must be hard to go through life feeling annoyed all the time.  

A receptionist I’ve talked to a few times is a crack up, and she clearly hates people who call (or at least sales people who call).

Leave a Reply

