My favorite Ken Griffey Jr. moment was not a moment

My favorite moment watching Ken Griffey Jr. patrol center field for the Ms in the 90s was not a moment – it was his playing for the M’s period.  He was the only M in our history who could single-handedly draw me to a game, because every single pitch when he was in the outfield could be something special (i.e. incredible catch) and every at-bat was fun.  I felt that way about Steve Largent and Kenny Easley for the Hawks, too.  I liked Gus Williams, Ellis/Chambers/McDaniel and the entire 90s Sonics, but basketball is a different pace so was not quite the same feeling on any single play.  

That said, I don’t his inauguration into the Hall of Fame today all that exciting.  That’s just a plaque, and at the end of the day, he was just a human being who was pretty good at what he did – his going into the Hall of Fame should be exciting for him but literally has no impact on my life.  🙂

My favorite Ken Griffey Jr. moment was not a moment

Leave a Reply

