Am remembering the kind people I met in Nice France, and the euphoria of Bastille Day…

I am not a well traveled American, but I have been two France twice, including Nice, France.  I remember a baker and her daughter were very helpful and kind, and threw in an extra cookie for me.  I also remember the waiter who tried so desperately to help us find a cab back to our ship, and the saintly tour bus driver who chauffered us like a mad man back to our ship before it took off.  I am thinking of the four of them today, and hoping they are okay.

I am also remembering the Bastille Day we spent in Paris a few years ago.  I’ve never seen anything like it.  People were in a euphoric mood, with parades and helpful police and soldiers everywhere.  People sat and drank wine by the Seine.  Then, that night, the incredible once-in-a-lifetime fireworks celebration over the Eiffel Tower.  Remembering the festive mood of that day, it is especially devestating to think similar people were struck down in the midst of their festivities.

I loved the people of France.  They were helpful, kind and friendly.  I am not sure why terrorists are targeting that country.  Why not target the jerks of the world to make a statement?  

Am remembering the kind people I met in Nice France, and the euphoria of Bastille Day…

Leave a Reply

