Hard to believe boxing was once one of the most popular sports in America

Baseball, horse racing and prizefighting were both famous sports in America for decades in the 20th century, yet I know very few people in 2016 who follow any of those.

When I was a kid, my parents watched boxing on prime time TV.  The last fights of Ali, Sugar Ray Leonard, Robert Duran, Thomas Hearns, Larry Holmes, etc. – these were all men we watched compete on prime time TV in the late 70s and early 80s, before the proliferation of cable and pay-for-TV.  

My grandpa was an amateur boxer, and competed in the navy championships during WW2 (we never learned if he won or not).  I think in those times, boxing was a part of many boys’ childhood.  A burly adult, there is a picture of him as a young man in boxing gloves where he was toned and lithe…

There is a great book about boxing called Serenity.  I love that book, and love boxing although I cannot watch it anymore, as I’m not able to watch someone damage their brain that way.

Hard to believe boxing was once one of the most popular sports in America

Leave a Reply

